RAMA’S LAMENT

They chant my name, with fire in their hearts they scream,
They call me saviour who wandered out of a wise mystic’s dream,Rama Lament
I buried their villain, they say I washed the earth’s soul clean,
But I smile at them with a heavy heart,

For I miss my beloved queen.

They marvel at me and say I am God’s decree,
They say I am a prophet of virtue and duty,
They cling to me for meaning, parade me in gilded castles,
But I am hollow just as my inanimate life,

For I miss my beloved wife.

I was only godly with her by my side,
I was only a King when I felt her strength nearby,
I was only a Man when her hand was in mine,
Only for her did I make the heavens kneel,

Oh, how I miss my beloved queen.

My father always told me to follow my heart,
Why did my earthly duty tear it apart,
I sit atop a golden tower as my people hope and pray,
I breathe in the clouds they only marvel at, but it tastes so damn stale,

Oh, how I miss my beloved wife.

Rebirth, this power may be mine,
But how can I redeem myself, no other can play her part,
I once roamed the earth as Narsimha, a grotesque beast,
But he protected his child, he had more of a heart,

Oh, how I miss my beloved queen.

I turned my back on her, and she returned to the nurturing earth,
Even death can’t reunite us, my divinity is my curse,
I see her in the grace of all creation,  I see her in the compassion of our sons,
They will be better men, as her love mocks me the same,
Let humanity see, even a God hangs his head in shame.

Oh, how I miss my beloved wife.

Leave a Reply

